Can I Please Be Excused?

I have my bachelor of nursing and a certificate in critical care nursing.  I have been a registered nurse for the past five years.  Recently, I have come face to face with the ugly truth that I have been denying a secret desire that has been whispering in my ear for years.  I am quite certain that I have always known my truth in the very core of my being, but repeatedly dismissed my creative urges because I was filled with self-doubt.  To be blocked in this way is to feel a frustration like no other…I lost my way.   My compass became external reference points…what I “should” do versus what I “wanted” to do.  A chance encounter last fall provided me the map back to road.  Thankfully, I was open enough to accept it.

I went back to school in my late twenties, and, having a child, and a set of some very unfortunate circumstances, I enrolled in a program that I knew I could complete and end up with a full time job upon graduation. I remember the disjointedness I felt in school when clinical time came around every term.  While I loved and craved the patient interactions, learning, writing and studying aspects of my program, I was a wreck when it came to implementing the skills.  I can clearly remember driving to the hospital on clinical days praying that some event large enough to cause respectable damage, but small enough that I would only be slightly  maimed would occur.  I always felt so at odds with myself over this…I have always strived to maintain a cooperative relationship with my inner voice.  This time, I was telling the inner voice to take a hike-I had a degree to complete.