Month: August 2014

The Right…er…White Party

In conversation with someone involved in our provincial election a few days ago, I asked what the candidate’s position was in health care.  I revealed that I was a nurse and was more than willing to share my insights should they be inclined to hear them (they weren’t…).  Specifically, I asked what would be different if this candidate were to be elected.  What ensued was some fancy double-talk that had really nothing to do with the question that I had asked.  Which left me thinking…why does this government stuff have to be so hard?  What if we’re just trying to make something out of nothing?

I spent some time afterwards lost in thought which is a routine of mine when I meet sandpaper people.  “Sandpaper people” you ask?  Those are individuals that I run into that I may (or may not) know personally that provide me with some sort of friction to leave me with another layer gone.   My contemplative efforts were not in vain as I was able to devise my plan for my newly constructed political party and it’s platform.  I may be on to something here…

Good Evening Ladies and Gentlemen,

I’m going to thank you in advance for coming here tonight and lending your ear to a whole new approach to politics.  One that has never before been tried.  I know that new things are scary.  You should be commended on your willingness towards bravery and innovation.

My name is Amanda McEvoy.  I am not qualified at all to be running in a political campaign.  I’m a mother of three and a registered nurse though, so I’ve grown accustomed to adapting quickly to difficult environments.  And I did take an introductory course in politics during my nursing degree so you could say I’ve given it “the college try” (<insert soft laughter from audience or laugh track if audience is hardened towards my comedic efforts>)